The English Course Council (ECC), to which all English graduate students automatically belong, holds general and executive meetings every month. The ECC executive consists of eleven officers: Chair, Vice-Chair/Treasurer, Secretary, Communications Officer, Social Director, Graduate Committee Representative, Research Committee Representative, two Faculty Committee representatives (one M.A., one Ph.D.), and two Graduate Students' Association Representatives. Every student in the program is eligible to sit on the executive, the members of which are elected at the first general meeting of the academic year.

Perhaps the most important functions of the ECC executive are promoting student views and concerns to the Department's Graduate Committee and Research Committee, and advocating for individual students and groups to various offices and agencies on campus. The ECC gathers and distributes information for its membership; promotes events important to graduate studies in English—readings, seminars, and conferences; it also serves in a more social way by organizing pubs, skating parties, movie nights, and much more. An ECC member edits The Daily Procrastinator, the newsletter for graduate students in English. Members of the ECC also manage and edit The Fieldstone Review, an online literary journal publishing poetry, short fiction, non-fiction, and reviews.

ECC Winter 2022 Meetings

The Winter 2022 meetings of the English Course Council will take place on Tuesdays, at 2pm, on the following dates: January 11, February 8, March 8, and April 5.

Please note: The meeting location for the April 5 meeting is ARTS 1007.

ECC 2021-2022

Executive Council:

  • President: Tricia Monsour
  • Vice-President/Finance: Alyson Cook
  • Communications Officer: Olivia Abram
  • Editors-in-Chief (The Fieldstone Review): Delane Just and Aliza Prodaniuk

Non-Executive Council:

  • Daily Procrastinator Editor: Dara Gerbrandt
  • Faculty Committee Representative: Kai Orca McKenzie (PhD), Gwen Rose (MA)
  • Graduate Committee Representative: Andrej Kis
  • GSA Representative: Dara Gerbrandt and Challen Gladman (Amanda Burrows alternate)
  • Research, Scholarly, and Artistic Work Committee Representative: Jasmine Redford
  • ACCUTE Representative: Amanda Burrows
  • Union Representative: Gwen Rose
  • Social Committee: Olivia Abram and Cara Schwartz

Fieldstone Review Editorial Board 2021-2022

  • Editors-in-Chief: Delane Just and Aliza Prodaniuk
  • Copy Editor: Nicole Jacobson
  • Website Editor: Jasmine Redford
  • Fiction Editor: Ian Canon
  • Poetry Editor: Özten Shebahkeget
  • Creative Non-Fiction and Reviews Editor: Amanda Burrows