Alt tag
The College of Arts and Science honoured faculty and staff members with a celebration recognizing their achievements. (Photos by Samuel Dmyterko)

Arts and Science faculty, staff achievements honoured with college-wide celebration

The Arts and Science Celebration recognized achievements from the last four years


When faculty and staff put in the extra effort to help students, or reach a career milestone, it’s important to reflect and celebrate.  

On April 30, University of Saskatchewan (USask) College of Arts and Science faculty and staff members gathered in the Garry Room at Marquis Hall to celebrate their achievements—not just from this academic year but since the COVID-19 pandemic.  

Dean Brooke Milne with Dean's Distinguished Staff Award recipients.

“As USask’s largest and most diverse college, Arts and Science is fortunate to be the academic home of so many outstanding colleagues who work every day to support our teaching, learning and research missions,” said Dr. Brooke Milne (PhD, dean of the College of Arts and Science. “This celebration event was an opportunity to come together as a community to recognize the exceptional contributions of our colleagues over the past four years. I am proud and inspired by all that they do.”

The Arts and Science Celebration event featured appetizers, a musical performance by Paul Suchan, conversation and laughter. Dean Milne, Acting Vice-Dean Academic Dr. Jennifer Lang (PhD) and Interim Vice-Dean Faculty Relations Dr. Pamela Downe (PhD) each stepped up to the podium to announce and congratulate recipients in the following categories:  

Ian Moy receives award

The Office of the Vice-Dean Academic took the lead in organizing and facilitating the Arts and Science Celebration.

Jennifer Lang presents college teaching award

“It was an honour to celebrate with colleagues and friends at a college level for the first time in four years,” Lang said. “Congratulations to all faculty and staff on their achievements and well-deserved recognitions.”

Dr. Airini (PhD), USask provost and vice-president academic, and Dr. Scott Walsworth (PhD), USask vice-provost faculty relations, were also in attendance to personally congratulate award recipients. 

“I was thrilled to help celebrate the exceptional achievements of faculty and staff in the College of Arts and Science. Their work is inspiring students, creating new collaborations and connecting us to our communities as the University of Saskatchewan continues on its path to be what the world needs,” said Dr. Airini. 

Image title

Related Articles

College of Arts and Science teachers, staff, students recognized for enhancing student experience

Five members of the Arts and Science community have won 2024 USSU Excellence Awards

USask surpasses $428-million mark in major giving campaign

More than 18,000 alumni, 1,400 corporations, 5,000 individuals and 400 foundations have donated

Four members of USask community receive CBC Future 40 awards

Three recipients—Tasnim Jaisee (BA'24, BA'24, CQGS'24), Dr. Linzi Williamson (MA'13, PhD'19) and Ishita Mann—are part of the USask College of Arts and Science community