Alt tag
Top graduates of USask's 2023 Fall Convocation and 2024 Spring Convocation were recognized with awards. (Photos: David Stobbe)

College of Arts and Science celebrates award-winning graduates

2023/24 most outstanding graduates and medal winners were honoured at a special ceremony


The evening before receiving their degrees at the 2024 University of Saskatchewan (USask) Spring Convocation, some of the College of Arts and Science’s top graduates gathered to be honoured for their achievements.

At the annual College of Arts and Science Convocation Awards Ceremony on June 3, about 40 new alumni—the most outstanding graduates in Arts and Science programs, and the winners of college and university academic medals—were recognized. Dean Brooke Milne, Associate Dean of Student Affairs Darrin Oehlerking and Acting Vice-Dean Academic Jennifer Lang were onstage to present the awards.

Author Yann Martel, the recipient of a 2024 USask honorary degree, attended the event and gave a special address to the new graduates. Aurora Wolfe, a 2022 Indigenous studies graduate, spoke to the group on behalf of USask alumni.

Photos from the 2024 Convocation Awards Ceremony can be viewed on Flickr.

At Spring Convocation, 900 graduates received degrees and certificates from the College of Arts and Science, joining a community of more than 56,000 living Arts and Science alumni.

The names of the 2023/24 award and medal winners are listed below.

Award Winners in Humanities and Fine Arts

Cody John Conrad Brayshaw
Dean Brooke Milne with Cody John Conrad Brayshaw

Bailey Schaan
Award for Excellence in English Studies

Kurt Loescher
Braj Sinha Award for Most Outstanding Graduate in Religion and Culture

John Arne Barton
Department of Philosophy Convocation Award

Sam Huckerby
De Brou Top Graduate Award in History
Judy Poole Award in Art and Art History

Aida Bock
Most Outstanding Graduate in Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies

Cody John Conrad Brayshaw
Walter Mills Scholarship in Drama

Award Winners in Social Sciences

Lauren O'Reilly
Dean Brooke Milne with Lauren O'Reilly

Khoi Ngoc Mai Tran
Gordon A. McMurray Prize in Psychology

Lauren O'Reilly
The Honourable Donald Alexander McNiven Prize in Political Studies

Abdulsalam Ihmouda
Lewis C. Gray Prize in Economics

Mia Nemeth
Most Outstanding Graduate in Anthropology

Laura Eloise Adams Hardy
Most Outstanding Graduate in Archaeology

Michelle Catherine Straus
Most Outstanding Graduate in Sociology

Geoffery Curtis Coupal
Tania Balicki Memorial Award in Indigenous Studies

Award Winners in Science

Deborah Nwadiuto Chisomaga Achuonye
Dean Brooke Milne with Deborah Nwadiuto Chisomaga Achuonye

Abdullah Qureshi
Jack Miller Bursary

Sunny Yang
Molson Canada Undergraduate Achievement Award in Food Science

Deborah Nwadiuto Chisomaga Achuonye
Most Outstanding Graduate in Biochemistry

Khoushboo Ramiah
Most Outstanding Graduate in Chemistry

Fraser McLeod
Most Outstanding Graduate in Computer Science

Gavin Davis Robertson
Most Outstanding Graduate in Environmental Biology

Zoe Araneda
Most Outstanding Graduate in Hydrology

Daniel Currie
Most Outstanding Graduate in Physics

Kenzie Marie Taylor
Most Outstanding Graduate in Statistics

Caleb Zachary Kreisz
Ore Gangue Memorial Prize in Geological Sciences

Hannah Weimer
W.P. Thompson Convocation Prize in Biology

Award Winners in Interdisciplinary Programs

Mohamad Kao
Dean Brooke Milne with Mohamad Kao

Isabella Castillo Robalino
Mabel F. Timlin Prize in Business Economics

Jorden Whitenect
Most Outstanding Graduate in Applied Computing

Morgan Kay Beattie
Most Outstanding Graduate in Bioinformatics
Dr. J.F. Morgan Memorial Award in Microbiology and Immunology

Mohamad Kao
Most Outstanding Graduate in Biomedical Neuroscience

Maahi Mineshkumar Shah
Most Outstanding Graduate in Environment and Society

Sarah Hien Ha
Most Outstanding Graduate in Health Studies

Lexi Winter Johnson
Most Outstanding Graduate in Interactive Systems Design

Kyle Stanislav Vincent
Most Outstanding Graduate in Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences

Kathryn Sawatzky
Most Outstanding Graduate in International Studies

Dominic Alan George
Most Outstanding Graduate in Mathematical Physics

Mireille Riffou-Loomes
Regional and Urban Planning Convocation Award

Clarenz Salvador
Most Outstanding Graduate in Toxicology

Alison Paige Henkelman
Tonya Kaye Award for Most Outstanding Graduate in Women's and Gender Studies

Fall Convocation Medal Winners

Lauren Griffin
Dean Brooke Milne with Lauren Griffin

Cassidy Dawn Serhienko
Rose Litman Medal in Humanities

Yashik Goyal
University Medal in the Bachelor of Science Biomedical Sciences Degree

Jonah Kynan Murray
University Medal in the BA&Sc Degree

Lauren Griffin
University Medal in the Fine Arts

Charlotte Bryn James-Cavan
University Medal in the Social Sciences

Asel Joma Kondi
Fall Convocation Three-year Medal

Brennan Ron Lockinger
Dean's Medal
University Medal in the Sciences

Spring Convocation Medal Winners

John Kim
Dean Brooke Milne with John Kim

Cameron G. Muir
Copland Prize in Humanities

Abigail Catangay Clemente
Most Outstanding Graduate in Linguistics
Copland Prize in Social Sciences

Aidan Hydomako
Most Outstanding Graduate in Cellular, Physiological and Pharmacological Sciences
University Medal in the BSc Biomedical Sciences Degree

ChangHao Zhao
University Medal in the BA&Sc Degree

Morgan Marie Svenkeson
Spring Convocation Three-year Medal

Samuel Evan Dmyterko
Arthur Collingwood Convocation Prize in Music
University of Saskatchewan Film Society Prize
Haslam Medal

John Kim
Most Outstanding Graduate in Mathematics
Earl of Bessborough Prize in Science
Governor General’s Silver Medal

Together we will support and inspire students to succeed. We invite you to join by supporting current and future students' needs at USask.

Related Articles

USask Science Outreach and VIDO bring vaccine knowledge to Sask schoolkids

Top vaccine scientists are helping with science education for Indigenous K to 12 students

PATH TO PARIS: USask sociology student dives into first Olympics

At the age of 16, Margo Erlam made the difficult decision to leave family and friends to chase her Olympic dream

USask students learn about Mayan people and culture in new study abroad course

Study abroad student ambassador Kathryn Sawatzky reflects on an adventure in Mexico