Alt tag
Some of the 2024 recipients of USSU Excellence Awards. From left, Dr. Curtis Wendlandt (PhD), Dr. Simonne Horwitz (PhD) and Sukhman Dhawan. (Photos: USSU)

College of Arts and Science teachers, staff, students recognized for enhancing student experience

Five members of the Arts and Science community have won 2024 USSU Excellence Awards


The University of Saskatchewan Students’ Union (USSU) has honoured College of Arts and Science students and faculty with 2024 Excellence Awards.

At its annual awards ceremony, the USSU presented awards recognizing outstanding teaching, academic advising, enhancement to the student experience and more. Nominations for the awards are made by students.

The complete list of award winners is available on the USSU website. The following recipients from the College of Arts and Science were recognized:

Teaching Excellence Awards

  • Curtis Wendlandt, assistant professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Simonne Horwitz, associate professor, Department of History

Teaching Excellence Award – Instructional Support

  • Sukhman Dhawan, teaching assistant, Department of Computer Science

Pride Centre Doug Wilson Award

  • Emily Hubick, student

Barb Yanko Outstanding Citizenship Award

  • Alexis Salsbury, student

Together we will support and inspire students to succeed. We invite you to join by supporting current and future students' needs at USask.

Related Articles

USask students learn about Mayan people and culture in new study abroad course

Study abroad student ambassador Kathryn Sawatzky reflects on an adventure in Mexico

Four USask alumni named as 2024 Saskatchewan Order of Merit recipients

Four College of Arts and Science graduates have been awarded the Saskatchewan Order of Merit

Supporting queerness in academic, research spaces

Queer, Métis USask PhD student focusing research to help local 2SLGBTQIA+ communities