Alt tag
Revival and Change cover image: UBC Press. Among the Untamed cover image: Frontenac House.

USask Arts and Science alumni win book awards

Dr. John C. Courtney (DLitt’05, PhD) and Dee Hobsbawn-Smith (MFA’14, MA’21) have won 2024 Saskatchewan Book Awards


Two alumni of the University of Saskatchewan (USask) College of Arts and Science are among the winners of 2024 Saskatchewan Book Awards.

At a gala on May 3, the Saskatchewan Book Awards celebrated the year’s best work by Saskatchewan writers.

Dr. John C. Courtney (DLitt’05, PhD) received the Jennifer Welsh Scholarly Writing Award for his book Revival and Change: The 1957 and 1958 Diefenbaker Years (UBC Press). Courtney, who passed away in November 2023, was a professor emeritus in the Department of Political Studies and a senior policy fellow at the Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy.

Dee Hobsbawn-Smith (MFA’14, MA’21) won the Poetry Award Honouring Anne Szumigalski for Among the Untamed: a modern retelling of the Joan of Arc story through poetry. Hobsbawn-Smith is currently serving as the Province of Saskatchewan’s 10th Poet Laureate.

Numerous USask alumni were shortlisted for this year’s awards. Read the full list of nominees and the full list of award recipients on the Saskatchewan Book Awards website.

Related Articles

New Zealand artist/scholar to lead USask School for the Arts

Andrew Denton will join as director when the new school launches July 1

Supporting queerness in academic, research spaces

Queer, Métis USask PhD student focusing research to help local 2SLGBTQIA+ communities

Q&A with Saskatchewan's longest serving woman parliamentarian

Pat Atkinson (BA’73, BEd’77) has been selected as an Alumni of Influence Award recipient