Alt tag
More than 30 of the College of Arts and Science’s top graduating students of 2021/22 were honoured at an award ceremony in the Arts Building on June 6. (Photos: David Stobbe)

College of Arts and Science recognizes top graduates

Medal winners and most outstanding graduates were celebrated at a June 6 awards ceremony


The College of Arts and Science honoured its top graduating students of 2021/22 at an awards ceremony on Monday night. 

More than 30 award winners attended the June 6 College of Arts and Science Convocation Awards Ceremony to be recognized as the most outstanding graduate in their program or the winner of a medal at Fall or Spring Convocation.

Audience applauds

Dr. Peta Bonham-Smith (PhD), dean of the College of Arts and Science, addressed the award winners gathered at Neatby-Timlin Theatre at the University of Saskatchewan (USask) and presented them with certificates of achievement. 

“We are so proud of all that you have accomplished. We know that wherever you go in the future, and whatever you choose to do, you will continue to make us proud,” Bonham-Smith told the crowd of graduating students and their guests.

The College of Arts and Science Teaching Awards for 2022 were also presented at the event. Faculty members Dr. Jon Bath (PhD), Dr. Janeen Loehr (PhD) and Dr. Colin Sproat (PhD) received New Teacher Awards from the college.

This year’s College of Arts and Science Convocation Awards Ceremony marked the first time since 2019 that the event has been held in person. In 2020 and 2021, convocation awards were presented at virtual ceremonies because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

View photos from the awards ceremony on Flickr.

Hannah Tran
Dean Peta Bonham-Smith presented Hannah Natalie Tran with certificates of recognition for the Award for Excellence in English Studies, the Copland Prize in Humanities and the Haslam Medal.

USask 2022 Spring Convocation ceremonies for the College of Arts and Science are today, June 7. More than 1,000 graduands of the college will receive their parchments.

The names of this year’s student award winners are listed below.

College of Arts and Science 2021/22 Convocation Award Winners

Award Winners in Humanities and Fine Arts

Drusilla Hazel Waltz
Arthur Collingwood Convocation Prize in Music

Robin Leslie Larocque
Braj Sinha Award for the Most Outstanding Graduate in Religion and Culture

Alan Graham Wobeser
Debrou Top Graduate Award in History

Jessica Kathleen Harms
Department of Philosophy Convocation Award

Leanne Read
Judy Poole Award in Art and Art History

Mairyn Anne Rackow
Most Outstanding Graduate in Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies

Katrina Harper Renee Blackburn-Dust
Walter Mills Award in Drama

Award Winners in Social Sciences

Quinn Rozwadowski
Honourable Donald Alexander McNiven Prize in Political Studies

Aaryan Singh
Lewis C. Gray Prize in Economics

Amara Aida Wristen
Most Outstanding Graduate in Archaeology and Anthropology

Elina Schwarz
Most Outstanding Graduate in Linguistics

Devin Quinton Pratchler
Most Outstanding Graduate in Sociology

Aurora Grace Wolfe
Tania Balicki Memorial Award in Indigenous Studies

Award Winners in Science

Natisha Thakkar
Jack Miller Bursary in Physiology and Pharmacology

Meet Atulkumar Patel
J.F. Morgan Memorial Award in Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology

Sarah Hogarth
Molson Canada Undergraduate Achievement Award in Food Science

Todd Elliot Stang
Most Outstanding Graduate in Anatomy and Cell Biology

Haley Mae Paul
Most Outstanding Graduate in Biochemistry

Nicholas Jason Claude Bauer
Most Outstanding Graduate in Cellular, Physiological and Pharmacological Sciences

Azaria Larisa Antosh
Most Outstanding Graduate in Environmental Biology

Alana Janel Regier
Most Outstanding Graduate in Physics

Gavriel John Masa Arganosa
Most Outstanding Graduate in Statistics

Jaiden Donald Christopher
Ore Gangue Memorial Award in Geological Sciences

Rachel Reed
W.P. Thompson Convocation Prize in Biology

Award Winners in Interdisciplinary Programs

Lukas Conly
Mabel F. Timlin Prize in Business Economics

Vaidehee Uday Lanke
Most Outstanding Graduate in Bioinformatics

Aaron Coverett
Most Outstanding Graduate in Environmental Earth Sciences

Salena Samrith
Most Outstanding Graduate in Environment and Society

Phaedra Marie Berger
Most Outstanding Graduate in Interactive Systems Design

Matthew Don Reimer Dyck
Most Outstanding Graduate in International Studies

Mikayla Julie-Anne Rychel
Most Outstanding Graduate in Palaeobiology

Jordan Philip Reimer
Most Outstanding Graduate in Regional and Urban Planning

Jordan James Comfort
Most Outstanding Graduate in Toxicology

Hannah Elizabeth Adamcryck
Tonya Kaye Award for Most Outstanding Graduate in Women's and Gender Studies

Fall Convocation 2021 Medal Winners

Edward Krisna Utama
Most Outstanding Graduate in Mathematical Physics, University Medal in the Sciences, Dean's Medal

Kaitlin Roberta Lockert
Fall Convocation Three-year Medal

Megan Kristine Gorsalitz
Rose Litman Medal in Humanities

Brant Evans Morrow
University Medal in the B.A.&Sc. Degree (Fall Convocation)

Keiko Jacqueline Tanaka
University Medal in the Fine Arts

Rhiannon Caswell
University Medal in the Social Sciences

Spring Convocation 2022 Medal Winners

Hannah Natalie Tran
Haslam Medal, Copland Prize in Humanities, Award for Excellence in English Studies

Katelyn Shirley Lockinger
Copland Prize in the Social Sciences, Gordon A. McMurray Prize in Psychology

Noah William Friesen
Earl of Bessborough Prize in Science, Most Outstanding Graduate in Computer Science, Most Outstanding Graduate in Mathematics

Michael Riley Luciuk
Spring Convocation Three-year Medal

Keitha McClocklin
University of Saskatchewan Film Society Prize

Paige Lucienne Daubenfeld
University Medal in the B.A.&Sc. Degree (Spring Convocation), Most Outstanding Graduate in Health Studies

Melanie Claziena Gibbons
Governor General's Silver Medal

Related Articles

USask students learn about Mayan people and culture in new study abroad course

Study abroad student ambassador Kathryn Sawatzky reflects on an adventure in Mexico

Supporting queerness in academic, research spaces

Queer, Métis USask PhD student focusing research to help local 2SLGBTQIA+ communities

USask arts and science student champions compassion, reconciliation

Métis student Brett Hildebrandt aspires to be a compassionate physician in the context of reconciliation