News & Events


Award-winning Arts and Science graduates honoured in virtual ceremony

Posted on 2020-07-06 in Students & Campus Life, College Vision

Thirty-nine of the College of Arts and Science's top graduating students of 2019/20 are recognized in the video.

A group of the College of Arts and Science’s top graduating students of 2019/20 were recognized at a special online event at the end of June.

Each year, the College of Arts and Science presents awards to the most outstanding graduates in a diverse range of undergraduate degree programs. Additionally, a select number of the overall most outstanding graduates receive medals at fall and spring convocation.

Because in-person celebrations were not possible in spring 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the college instead organized its first-ever virtual awards program. The video awards ceremony was livestreamed on the evening of June 30.

The full video is now hosted on the College of Arts and Science’s YouTube channel and can be watched below.

Forty-six graduates were presented with awards from the College of Arts and Science this spring, and 39 participated in the online awards broadcast. The following award winners are recognized in the video.

Award Winners in Humanities and Fine Arts

Natasha Brooke Kooy
The Braj Sinha Award for Most Outstanding Graduate in Religion and Culture

Katrina Dawn Phippard
Debrou Top Graduate in History

Kelsey Ann Constantinoff
Department of Philosophy Convocation Award

Roderick E. Goertzen
Judy Poole Award in Art and Art History

Pierre Emmanuele Serge Anore
Most Outstanding Graduate in Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies

Natalie Gisele Clarke
Most Outstanding Graduate in Linguistics

Emily Anne Pickett
Walter Mills Award in Drama

Award Winners in Social Sciences

Sarah Heather Foley
The Honourable Donald Alexander McNiven Prize in Political Studies

Afia Alam
Lewis C. Gray Prize in Economics

Samved Dhar
Mabel F. Timlin Prize in Business Economics

Jessica Myra Jack
Most Outstanding Graduate in Anthropology

Celine Rose Beaulieu
Most Outstanding Graduate in Sociology

Award Winners in Science

Nancy Shuang Cai
Jack Miller Bursary in Physiology and Pharmacology

Justin Thomas Hall
J.F. Morgan Memorial Award in Microbiology and Immunology

Georgia Elizabeth Hurry
W.P. Thompson Convocation Prize in Biology

Miranda Skye Lavier
Most Outstanding Graduate in Chemistry

Evan Michael Seebach
Most Outstanding Graduate in Physics

Matthew Thompson
Most Outstanding Graduate in Computer Science

Erin Isabel White
Most Outstanding Graduate in Biochemistry

Olivia Fern Woo
Most Outstanding Graduate in Anatomy and Cell Biology

Award Winners in Interdisciplinary Programs

Flaviu Vadan
Most Outstanding Graduate in Bioinformatics

Tiana Dawn Kirstein
Most Outstanding Graduate in Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Matthew Alex Reichert
Most Outstanding Graduate in Environment and Society

Alana Michelle Krug-MacLeod
Most Outstanding Graduate in Environmental Biology

Marina Ann Tait
Most Outstanding Graduate in Environmental Earth Sciences

Julie Suzanne Larson
Most Outstanding Graduate in Interactive Systems Design

Brigette Rochelle Demerais
Most Outstanding Graduate in International Studies

Abigail Weger
Regional and Urban Planning Program Convocation Award

Sydney Mary Murray
Most Outstanding Graduate in Toxicology

Shawn Cassandra Ng
Tonya Kaye Award for Most Outstanding Graduate in Women's and Gender Studies

Medal Winners
Fall 2019 Convocation

Olenka Kawchuk
Most Outstanding Graduate in Archaeology
University Medal in the Social Sciences
Dean's Medal

Yuanyi Song
Fall Convocation Three-year Medal

Jensine Emeline Trondson
University Medal in the Fine Arts

Medal Winners
Spring 2020 Convocation

Drumlin Noah Crape
Award for Excellence in English Studies
Copland Prize in Humanities

Ana Carolina de Barros
Gordon A. McMurray Prize in Psychology
Copland Prize in Social Sciences
Haslam Medal

Fraser Matthew Krips
University of Saskatchewan Film Society Prize
Arthur Collingwood Convocation Prize in Music

Alyssa Dawn McCullough
Spring Convocation Three-year Medal

Erinna McMurtry
University Medal in the B.A. & Sc. Degree

Tori Samantha Shmon
Earl of Bessborough Prize in Science
Governor General’s Silver Medal


Back to News Listing

Related Articles

Virtual Town Hall for Arts and Science Students

Posted on 2020-10-21

Get answers to your questions from Dean Peta Bonham-Smith

Student-created videos shine a light on collaborations between Museum of Antiquities, Canadian Light Source

Posted on 2020-10-21

Students and faculty members are raising awareness of the benefits of collaborative interdisciplinary research by highlighting how synchrotron science can provide new information about historical and cultural artifacts

College of Arts and Science releases annual progress report

Posted on 2020-10-09

The College of Arts and Science has published its annual update on “Think Big – Be Bold,” the college’s plan to 2025

USask graduate students to launch new archaeology and anthropology journal

Posted on 2020-10-01

The annual journal, called Pathways, will be published online each fall

A world of difference: Shining a light on Indigenous women in science

Posted on 2020-09-29

USask physics student Julia Doucette-Garr completed an internship at the Canadian Light Source (CLS) this summer