Alt tag
Quadriplane Structurist Relief (detail) by Eli Bornstein

Applications now accepted for the Structurist Award

Proposed projects will have a budget of up to $18,000 and eligibility is open internationally


Applications for the second Structurist Award at the University of Saskatchewan (USask) will be accepted until Jan. 31, 2020.

The award, which is available to individuals pursuing research and creative work, recognizes the legacy of the international art journal The Structurist, which was founded at USask in 1960 by Eli Bornstein, an award-winning artist and now professor emeritus.

Incorporating the root word structure, The Structurist is concerned with the building processes of creation in art, architecture and nature. It focuses on ideas in architecture and the arts—including painting, sculpture, design, photography, music and literature—and their histories and relationships to each other, as well as to science, technology and nature.

Projects undertaken as part of the Structurist Award will culminate in a form that will be available to the public, such as a publication, exhibition or film or other media.

Projects must also include a seminar, symposium or public lecture in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Proposed projects will have a budget of up to $18,000 CAD. Eligibility is open internationally. Access to the use of all USask archival material pertaining to The Structurist will be available to the award recipient.

Click here for more information about the Structurist Award selection criteria or to apply online.

Professor Lawrence Blough, principal of GRAFTWORKS Design Research and professor at Pratt Institute School of Architecture, was named the inaugural 2018-19 Structurist Fellow. His exhibition, entitled Domestic Mutations in the Age of the Sharing Paradigm, will remain on view at the Kenderdine Art Gallery until Dec. 13, 2019.

Related Articles

Remembering a USask computing pioneer

Dr. Kathleen Booth (PhD) invented some of the technologies that make computers possible

USask paleontologists awarded prestigious national, international medals

Geological Sciences professors Luis Buatois and Brian Pratt were recognized for their work on an international and national scale

Award-winning USask professor enjoys thriving artistic practice

Alison Norlen, a faculty member in the Department of Art and Art History, has been honoured with the title of distinguished professor