News & Events


Arts and Science faculty, students and alumni among Women of Distinction nominees

Posted on 2019-05-01 in Students & Campus Life, Alumni

The Honorable Dr. Lillian Eva Quan Dyck (PhD) received the 2019 Women of Distinction Lifetime Achievement Award. (Photo: Dave Stobbe)

College of Arts and Science faculty, students and alumni are among the accomplished individuals who have been recognized by the Saskatoon YWCA through the annual Women of Distinction Awards nominations.

The nominees for 2019 Women of Distinction awards include:

  • Sociology PhD student Abigail Zita Seshie for the Community Building Award;
  • Dr. Priscilla Settee (BA’76, BEd’87, PhD’07), a faculty member in the Department of Indigenous Studies, for the Education Award;
  • Dr. Valerie Korinek (PhD), a faculty member in the Department of History and the College of Arts and Science’s vice-dean faculty relations, for the Education Award;
  • Chemistry PhD student Naheda Sahtout for the Education Award;
  • Candace Wasacase-Lafferty (BA’18), senior director of Indigenous engagement at the University of Saskatchewan, for the Leadership & Professions Award;
  • Andrea Hawrysh (BSc’98) for the Research & Technology Award;
  • Dr. Candice Jackel-Cram (BSc'03) for the Research & Technology Award;
  • Briana Brownwell (BSc'06) for the Research & Technology Award;
  • Dr. Kalowatie Deonandan (PhD), a faculty member in the Department of Political Studies, for the Research & Technology Award;
  • Amanda Guthrie (BA’16) for the 29 and Under Award for Young Women; and
  • Amanda Perrot (BSc’06) for the Saskatchewan Spirit Award.

Senator Lillian Dyck (BA’66, MA’70, PhD’81) was presented with the 2019 Women of Distinction Lifetime Achievement Award in part for her work in advocating for equity in the education and employment of women, Chinese Canadians and Indigenous people. Dr. Kalowatie Deonandan (PhD) was the winner in the Research & Technology category.

Since 1982, Saskatoon’s Women of Distinction Awards program has honoured hundreds of women for their leadership and contributions to our community. The 2019 Women of Distinction Awards dinner was held on Tuesday, May 14, at TCU Place.


Back to News Listing

Related Articles

From Ghana to Canada: Huskie’s life-changing move

Posted on 2021-04-09

Coming from the tropical climate of the West African country of Ghana where daily temperatures average +30 C, Maxwell Amoafo knew he was in for a major change coming to Canada

USask announces 2021 Images of Research Competition winners

Posted on 2021-04-09

University of Saskatchewan faculty, staff, students and alumni submitted their best photos of research for consideration in an array of categories for the seventh annual Images of Research Competition this year

Creative Isolation: S.E. Grummett wows crowds while stuck in Australia

Posted on 2021-04-08

College of Arts and Science graduate S.E. Grummett (BFA'16) won the Best Theatre award at the Adelaide Fringe for their show Something in the Water, which premiered at the Saskatoon Fringe

USask archaeology students’ hands-on forensic experience in local cemetery could support TRC Calls to Action

Posted on 2021-04-07

The training the students received at the Nutana Pioneer Cemetery in Saskatoon could prove valuable as searches continue across Canada for the remains of Indigenous children who died while attending residential schools

USask student wins first-place prize in Japanese speech contest

Posted on 2021-04-05

Ryan Domoslai took first prize in the beginners’ category in the 30th Alberta District Japanese Speech Contest and placed second in the 32nd Canadian National Japanese Language Speech Contest

Pioneering ag prof grows deep roots on campus

Posted on 2021-04-01

Like many students heading to USask, professor emeritus Robert (Bob) McKercher, a College of Arts and Science alumnus, came from farming roots