The Canada Research Chairs program stands at the centre of a national strategy to make Canada one of the world's top countries in research and development.

In 2000, the Government of Canada created a permanent program to establish 2000 research professorships, Canada Research Chairs, in eligible degree-granting institutions across the country.

The Canada Research Chairs program invests $300 million per year to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds.

Chairholders aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences. They improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching, and the coordination of other researchers' work.

For further information, please visit Canada Research Chair's website.

Current CRC Chairholders Within the Department:

Past CRC Chairholders Within the Department:

  • Dr. Soledade Pedras, B.Sc., Ph.D.
    Canada Research Chair in Bioorganic and Agricultural Chemistry, Tier 1 (2004 to 2018)
  • Dr. Timothy Kelly, B.Sc., Ph.D. 
    Canada Research Chair in Photovoltaics, Tier 2 (2012 to 2022)