Home http://www.usask.ca/


Essentials of Developmental Plant Anatomy Textbook Published

Essentials of Developmental Plant Anatomy

Steeves and Sawhney, 2017

This book provides a developmental perspective to plant anatomy. The intent of the book is to provide fundamental information on plant structure and development to students at the introductory level, and as a resource material to researchers working in nearly all areas of plant biology i.e., plant physiology, anatomy and development, systematics, ecology, developmental genetics and molecular biology. The book is focused on angiosperm species with some examples from different groups of plants.
Essentials of Developmental Plant Anatomy starts with an introductory chapter and a brief introduction to plant cell structure, which is followed by the structure of the flower, plant reproduction (vegetative and sexual) and the development and structure of embryo - the precursor to the plant body. Each chapter then deals with essential information on the shoot system, diversity of plant cells and tissues, the structure and development of the stem, leaf, root, and the secondary body. 

About the Authors:
The late Professor Taylor A. Steeves served as the department head for many years of the Biology Department at the University of Saskatchewan. He received his Ph.D. from Harvard University. Professor Steeves passed away in 2011. Vipen K. Sawhney is Professor Emeritus and former Head of the Biology Department at the University of Saskatchewan. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Western Ontario, Canada. Professors Steeves and Sawhney are internationally known for their research in plant development and both have received several awards including, Lawson medal - the highest award given by the Canadian Botanical Association, and are the recipients of an Earned D.Sc. from the University of Saskatchewan. They are both highly acclaimed teachers who have taught various courses in plant biology and have been recognized by the University of Saskatchewan with teaching excellence awards, including the Master Teacher award.