Student's Advisory Comittee


Every student in a thesis-based MA degree programme needs to have a student's advisory committee (SAC) in order to complete the programme (there is no SAC for students enrolled in the course-based MA).

The SAC is composed of a supervisor and at least two regular committee members. As soon as possible after the start of the program the student should identify a faculty member who consents to act as the student's supervisor. With the supervisor, and typically after the completion of the student's course work, the student's first task is to prepare a thesis proposal, a document of about 8-10 double-spaced pages outlining the student’s overall objective in their thesis along with a rough outline of the thesis' argument structure. Once the student and supervisor are satisfied that they have a workable draft of the thesis proposal, they identify who might be potential regular committee members.

Once the other committee members have consented to serve on the student’s SAC, a meeting is arranged to discuss the viability of the proposal. If the advisory committee is satisfied that the proposal is viable and that the student will be able to complete it, the SAC grants the student permission to write the thesis. This approval must be obtained no later than 30 June (the end of the student’s first year). Provided that the student has met the other requirements for the thesis based option (completion of the first year of five courses, PHIL 990, and GSR 960 with a cumulative average of 80%), the student then writes the thesis, while consulting with the SAC.

A thesis should consist of approximately 70 double spaced pages, not including the bibliography or any appendices. Once the SAC approves the thesis, the supervisor arranges an oral defence of the thesis. In an oral defence, the student defends the thesis in front of an examination committee consisting of the student’s SAC and an external examiner from another department within the university.

Once the student successfully passes the oral defence, and any required revisions to the thesis have been made, the student is eligible to graduate with an MA degree.

Potential Supervisors

  • Peter Alward
  • Sarah Hoffman
  • Leslie Howe
  • Robert Hudson
  • Dwayne Moore
  • Emer O'Hagan
  • Ria Jenkins
  • John Liptay
  • Daniel Regnier
  • Carl Still

Potential Advisory Committee Members

  • Abraham Akkerman
  • William Buschert
  • Brian Zamulinski
  • or anyone listed as a potential supervisor
Please see the Department People page for contact details and background information for Potential Supervisors and Advisory Committee Members