

## **Indigenous Course Committee**

## (a) Roles and Responsibilities

The Indigenous Course Committee will be charged with the following duties:

- i. Review, request revisions, and designate courses to be added to the Indigenous Learning Requirement list for the College of Arts & Science. This would include approving or declining content, assignments and the suggestions of possible instructors.
- ii. Review and update as necessary the procedure to designate courses for inclusion in the ILR.
- iii. Approve or deny requests for transfer credit for courses to meet the ILR, taken at other institutions.
- iv. Consult with Department Heads and Interdisciplinary Program Chairs regarding instructors for ILR courses.
- v. Provide support to the departments and faculty to encourage them to create ILR courses, through workshops, consultation, etc.
- vi. Assess the impacts and effectiveness of the ILR courses, based on student and faculty surveys/data which will be conducted separately from the SLEQ/teaching evaluations. These surveys will not be connected to the assessment of the instructor, but rather impact on student learning and perception.

## (b) Committee Composition

The Vice Dean Indigenous (VDI) will have the final authority of approval in the appointment of all committee members forwarded for consideration.

- Vice-Dean Indigenous (ex officio)
- Two (2) faculty representatives from the Department of Indigenous Studies
- Two (2) faculty representatives who are specialists in Indigenous RSAW and education from Arts & Science (outside of Indigenous Studies). Preference will be given to Indigenous faculty members
- One (1) faculty representative who is a specialist in Indigenous RSAW and education from the University of Saskatchewan (outside of Arts & Science, voting member). Preference will be given to Indigenous faculty members.
- One (1) representative from one of the following groups: Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations appointed by their Educational Secretariat or Saskatoon Tribal Council appointed by their Education unit (voting member).
- One (1) representative from one of the following groups: Gabriel Dumont Institute or the Saskatchewan Urban Native Teacher Education Program (voting member).
- One (1) Indigenous student from the College of Arts & Science who has completed the Indigenous Learning Requirement. (voting member).
- Manager, Indigenous Education Initiatives, Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning (ex officio, non-voting).
- One (1) representative from the Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning (ex officio, non-voting)
- Executive Assistant to the Vice-Dean Indigenous (ex officio, non-voting)

(c) Procedures

- i. The Vice-Dean Indigenous will serve as the Chair of the Committee.
- ii. Quorum shall be any three (3) Arts & Science faculty members and the Vice-Dean Indigenous.
- iii. The Committee shall meet regularly as required.