

Academic Programs Committees

- (a) Common Roles and Responsibilities
- Each Academic Programs Committee has the following authority and responsibility for the course and program proposals which are assigned to it, as outlined in 5. (b) ...
- i. To approve the following:
- All proposals which require only College-level approval, as described in the Curricular Changes Authority Chart, in the Course and Program Approvals Handbook, Office of the University Secretary, University of Saskatchewan;
- Automatic transfer credit for courses offered by other Colleges that are proposed for credit in an existing or proposed program.
- ii. To review and recommend for approval by submission to the University Course Challenge (UCC) all proposals which require only UCC approval, as described in the Curricular Changes Authority Chart, in the Course and Program Approvals Handbook, Office of the University Secretary, University of Saskatchewan.
- iii. To review and recommend to Faculty Council, for forwarding to the Academic Programs Committee of University Council, all proposals which require Academic Programs Committee of University Council approval, all proposals which require University Council approval, and all proposals which require Board of Governors approval, as described in the Curricular Changes Authority Chart, in the Course and Program Approvals Handbook, Office of the University Secretary, University of Saskatchewan and in the Bylaws of the Board of Governors.
- (b) Committee Name, Specific Roles, and Compositions

Academic Programs Committee (B.A., B.F.A., B.Mus.)

This committee has the following authority and responsibility, as outlined in 5(a), for all Arts & Science proposals pertaining to courses that carry the fine arts (FNAR), humanities (HUM), and/or social sciences (SOCS) attribute, any additional courses in subjects for which any of these attributes is carried by the majority of courses, and any course in a subject under the academic authority of the Dean's or Vice-Dean's Office which carries the Arts and Science No Program Type (ARNP) attribute which has a focus in one or more areas that is currently assigned any of these attributes; for all proposals pertaining to Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Fine Arts, and Bachelor of Music programs; and for all proposals pertaining to Certificate, Minor, or Recognition programs comprised of a 4/5 majority of courses which carry one or a combination of the FNAR, HUM, and SOCS attributes.

(i) Composition

- Six (6) faculty from departments/units which are the academic home of a BA, BFA, or BMus program. The committee will comprise
 - One (1) faculty representative from a department which is home to a Fine Arts program
 - Two (2) faculty representatives from departments which are home to a Humanities program
 - Two (2) faculty representatives from departments which are home to a Social Sciences program
 - One (1) faculty representative from any department which is home to a BA, BFA, or BMus program.
- One (1) faculty representative from departments which are not the academic home of a BA, BFA, or BMus program



College of Arts and Science Faculty Council

- One (1) faculty representative from STM
- Vice-Dean Academic or designate (ex officio)
- One (1) representative of the Sessional Lecturers, who regularly teaches one or more courses that carry at least one of the fine arts (FNAR), humanities (HUM) and/or social sciences (SOCS) attributes
- Director, Programs Office, Arts and Science (non-voting)
- One (1) staff member from the Arts and Science Undergraduate Student Office, appointed by the Associate Dean, Students (non-voting)

(ii) Procedures

- The Chair shall be elected by the Committee.
- Quorum shall be 6 voting members of the Committee.
- The Committee shall meet regularly as required.