

Committee of Department Heads

(a) Role and Responsibilities

- i. To report to and advise Faculty Council on matters related to scholarship and discipline, teaching and programming, space and infrastructure, budgets and other administrative issues;
- ii. To discuss departmental matters related to scholarship and discipline, teaching and programming, space and infrastructure, budgets and other administrative issues;
- iii. To share strategies, knowledge and experience;
- iv. To mentor and support new Department Heads;
- v. To discuss college matters related to scholarship and discipline, teaching and programming, space and infrastructure, budgets and other administrative issues;
- vi. To engage in regular communication with the Dean, Vice-Deans, and Associate Deans concerning the same either by receiving reports from them or requesting consultation;
- vii. To bring recommendations and motions for consideration to Faculty Council;
- viii. To receive matters for its consideration from Faculty Council or any of the standing committees of council.
- (b) Composition
 - i. Heads of all Departments in the College of Arts and Science, ex-officio or their designate
 - ii. One (1) representative of Inter-disciplinary programs
 - iii. College Secretary (non-voting)
- (c) Procedures
 - i. The Chair shall be elected by members of the Committee under most circumstances in the preceding year.
 - ii. The term of the Chair shall be one (1) year and may be renewed for up two (2) additional years.
 - iii. The term of office of the Chair shall begin on July 1, except in the case of filling a vacancy.
 - iv. All questions before the Committee shall be determined by a simple majority of votes of members present.
 - v. The Chair shall not vote on a motion except in the case of a tie.
 - vi. In matters requiring an urgent decision and a call of the Chair a motion may be put electronically.
 - vii. Quorum shall be 50% of the voting Committee membership.
 - viii. The Committee Chair or designate shall report to and represent the committee at Faculty Council.
 - ix. The Committee shall meet at least three times a year.