# UNIVERSITY OF SASKATCHEWAN College of Arts and Science

### College of Arts and Science Faculty Council

#### **Academic Affairs Committee**

- (a) Role and Responsibilities
  - i. To recommend to the Faculty Council for forwarding to the Academic Programs Committee of the University Council:
    - requirements for admission to programs of the College;
    - candidates for degrees, diplomas and certificates;
    - candidates for scholarships, prizes and other awards and honours that are not dependent upon grade point average.
- ii. To establish and publish rules and methods for the progression and graduation of students and for their suspension or requirement to withdrawal permanently for failure to meet the requirements for progression.
- iii. To approve admission to the honours program, based on recommendations from departments, program coordinators and other academic units.
- iv. To establish and maintain a sub-committee to hear allegations of academic misconduct as provided for under the University Council's regulations governing academic misconduct.
- v. To establish and maintain a sub-committee, which rules in cases of student appeals and grievances and academic dishonesty.

## (b) Composition

- Two (2) faculty members of academic disciplines in the College affiliated with each of the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities and Fine Arts
- One (1) faculty representative from STM or designate
- One (1) faculty representative from departments within the Division of Biomedical Sciences that offer BSc degree programs through the College of Arts and Science, or designate
- Dean of Arts and Science or designate (ex officio)
- Associate Dean, Students, Arts and Science
- Chair of the Faculty Council (ex officio)
- One (1) representative of the Sessional Lecturers
- President, ASSU or designate
- Director of Student Academic Services (non-voting)

#### (c) Procedures

- i. The Chair shall be elected by the Committee.
- ii. Quorum shall be seven (7) voting members of the Committee, including a minimum of four (4) faculty members.
- iii. The Committee shall normally meet two (2) or three (3) times each term.