College of Arts and Science - where great minds meet Home



Congratulations to Recent Undergraduate Awards Winners

The Department of English is delighted to announce the results of the Spring 2017 awards competitions. Congratulations to all winners, and heartfelt thanks to our generous donors.

Bon voyage to Hannon Travel Scholarship winner Jessica Klassen-Wright. Jessica will be travelling to Spain to deepen her knowledge of Spanish language and literature and forge connections in preparation for graduate school.

The McGeachy Prize in Journalism has also been awarded to Jessica Klassen-Wright. Jessica has served as the News Editor at the Sheaf for the last year, and will be taking the helm next year in the position of Editor-in-Chief.

Congratulations to Ryan Gayowski, winner of The Avie Bennett Prize in Canadian Literature for his outstanding essay “Desperate and Absurd: The Role of Humour in Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town and Leaven of Malice.”

The Yuans Award in Canadian Literature goes to Jessica Klassen-Wright for her distinguished seminar paper “[I]mmense strength of mind and firmness of soul”: Representations of Women in De Mille’s A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder.

Two Elizabeth Brewster Memorial Scholarships, recognizing excellence in creative writing, have been awarded this year. Congratulations to Sophie Gronsdahl and Thayne Harden on their distinction in their third-year Creative Writing classes.


Department News


All News

Event Listing

Calendar of Events

Department Newsletter


Department of English

Department of English
319 Arts Building
University of Saskatchewan
9 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, SK S7N 5A5

Phone: 306.966.1268